Leave a comment

Monopoly Streets

monopoly-game-with-friends

 

I think most of us have played monopoly sometime in our life. I came across this article and I realized that the writer and I had the same impression of the Monopoly streets.

I am re-printing his article, hopefully you will find it of interest too.

 

What The Monopoly Properties Look Like In Real Life

Whenever I played Monopoly as a kid, I used to love imagining what the game’s city would look like in real life. I remember thinking of Mediterranean and Baltic as being these short, run-down alleys ala West Side Story, while Pennsylvania Ave and the other greens as Fifth Avenue-style apartment buildings.

What I didn’t know back then was that the properties in Monopoly were in fact named after the streets of Atlantic City. Monopoly itself has a long and complicated history, but the addition of Atlantic City-based street names can be traced to one Ruth Hoskins. Hoskins had learned a version of the game in Indianapolis, and upon moving to Atlantic City in 1929, made her own copy from scratch naming properties after streets where her friends lived.

read pictures and more here

 

Leave a Reply

