1 Comment

NYC – Searching for wooden houses

Houses made of wood – in Manhattan?

I often wonder if there are an infinite number of things you can find in New York City. Today, as I was walking over to the Jewish Museum (free on Saturdays) two houses on east 92nd street caught my eye. I think it was the porches as well as there size. They reminded me of some of the homes in Rhinebeck, NY. Over the years, many of the Upper East Side’s building are now marble and limestone townhouses, but there are charming houses, made of plain old wood. Theses two houses as well as one on east 93rd street are such examples. I would imagine that there are not many of these left.

Note: Later, I found out that I must have walked past, another wooden building, the Richard Hibberd House at 160 E. 92nd St., built 1852-53 and once home to Eartha Kitt.

This area of the Upper East Side was called Yorkville – not sure it is still considered Yorkville. In this neighborhood the Marx Brothers grew up. The well-known 92nd Street Y is in the neighborhood and President Obama lived at 339 E. 94th St. in the 1980s.

Two restaurants – Fetch and the Barking Dog, attract those who like to dine outdoors with their furry friends.  I add this last part for my daughter who has two wonderful dogs.

East 92nd Street

This wooden house was constructed in 1850 by a local builder who admired the fashionable Italianate styles then customarily used in brick and stone buildings. However, the columned porch recalls the earlier Greek revival style. When the house was built this part of New York was semi-rural in character (Landmark plaque)

In a later Blog, I hope to get to a row of 20 wooden houses on the upper west side. I think the area is called Sylvan Terrace. Court

One comment on “NYC – Searching for wooden houses

  1. I’ll right away take hold of your rss feed as I can’t to find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Please allow me recognise in order
    that I may subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

